Tag Archives: Secondary

Maths Name: QuickMath Address: http://quickmath.com/ Description: QuickMath will automatically answer the most common problems in algebra, equations and calculus faced by high-school and college students. Name: Math goodies Address: http://www.mathgoodies.com Description: Math Goodies is your free math help portal featuring interactive lessons, worksheets, and homework help. Science Name: Exploring the planets Address: http://www.nasm.si.edu/etp/ Description: Exploring The Planets highlights […]

Name: Classroom ClipartAddress: http://classroomclipart.com/ Description: Free clip art resources for use in the classroom Name: Geosense Address: http://www.geosense.net/ Description: Geography knowledge test site Name: Babelfish Address: http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translate_txt Description: Easy to use language translator Name: Visual Simulations Address: http://visualsimulations.co.uk/simulations.php Description: Simulation software for teaching science with an IWB. They incorporate bold visualisation and real-time scientific models. Name: Interactive Address:http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/ Description: Interactive math and science activities Name: New Zealand Edge Address: http://www.nzedge.com/ […]

Both primary and Secondary Name: Neo K12 Address: http://www.neok12.com/ Description: Online educational videos and games Name: Google Image Swirl Address: http://image-swirl.googlelabs.com/ Description: Fun twist on Google image searching Name: The Innovative Educator – 100 video sites every educator should bookmark. Address:http://theinnovativeeducator.blogspot.com/2010/02/100-video-sites-every-educator-should.html Description: A list of 100 video sites ideal for educators Primary Name: Online Audio Stories Address: http://www.onlineaudiostories.com/ Description: Range of online audio stories Name: Imagination Cubed Address: http://www.imaginationcubed.com/index.php Description: Online interactive whiteboard Name: Woodlands […]

Secondary Name: MIT – Open courseware Address: http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm Description: MIT OpenCourseWare is a free publication of MIT course materials that reflects almost all the undergraduate and graduate subjects taught at MIT Languages Name: Live Mocha Address: http://www.livemocha.com/ Description: Livemocha is the world’s largest online language learning community Name: Word2Word Address: http://www.word2word.com/course.html Description: Free online language courses Name: Maori.org Address: http://www.maori.org.nz/kotereo/ Description: An online Maori language course and listings of resources. English Name: Read Print Address: http://www.readprint.com/ Description: […]

Science: Name: Absorb learning Address: http://www.absorblearning.com/en/Free_online_Absorb_resources/ Description: Range of science activities for: chemistry, electronics, mathematics, physics and advanced physics. Name: ARKive Address: http://www.arkive.org/ Description: With the help of the world’s best filmmakers, photographers, conservationists and scientists, ARKive is creating the ultimate multimedia guide to the world’s endangered species. Name: Freeze Ray Address: http://freezeray.com/physics.htm Description: Interactive games for physics, chemistry and biology. Name: Periodic table of videos Address: http://www.periodicvideos.com/# Description: A […]

General: Name: Grammar Address: http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/ Science: Name: Whole brain atlas Address: http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/home.html Name: Interactive periodic table of elements Address: http://code.jalenack.com/periodic/ Name: Natural History Museum Address: http://www.nhm.ac.uk/index.html Name: National Geographic kids Address: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/ History: Name: History Chanel Address:http://www.history.com/ Name: Worlds myths and legends in art Address: http://www.artsmia.org/world-myths/ Name: Animated Atlas Address: http://www.animatedatlas.com/movie2.html Math: Name: Quadrilateral Quest Address: http://teams.lacoe.edu/documentation/classrooms/amy/geometry/6-8/activities/quad_quest/quad_quest.html Name: Maths Net (www.mathsnet.net) Address:http://www.mathsnet.net/geometry/solid/nets.html http://www.mathsnet.net/geometry/solid/index.html Name: Ambleside Primary Address: http://www.amblesideprimary.com/ambleweb/mentalmaths/angleshapes.htmlName: BGLF – fractions Address: http://www.bgfl.org/bgfl/custom/resources_ftp/client_ftp/ks2/maths/fractions/index.htmName: Cut the knot Address: http://www.cut-the-knot.org/games.shtml Art Name: Mr Picasso Head Address: http://www.picassohead.com/create.html Music Name: The music interactive Address: http://www.themusicinteractive.com/TMI/The_Music_Interactive_-_Welcome.html

The use of interactive whiteboards in the teaching of secondary school English begins with the very basic use of text and breaking it. Punctuation and Grammar There are a variety of ways in which you can use an IWB to enhance the teaching of grammar. Taking sentences, eliminating punctuation from them, and then asking your […]

Name: Discovery Channel Address: http://dsc.discovery.com/guides/guides.html  The Discovery channel site contains a range of information (videos, games too) over a variety of topics. Plenty of detail on each topic that it covers and well presented. Name: National Geographic Address: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/  Like the Discovery channel site, National Geographic takes the best of the tv channel, whilst also mixing it with the […]

What’s happening in WorkbookFor those of you unsure on what 2Touch Workbook is, it’s the latest interactive whiteboard software that’s made right here in New Zealand. Designed and developed with the help of New Zealand teachers, 2Touch Workbook provides a blank canvas to create lessons and a set of accompanying tools to generate interactivity and […]

This month we review three interactvie and engaging websites covering a range of subjects from Chemistry to English, General Science, Social Studies and, well, just about everything. Virtual Chemistry Name: Virtual Chemistry Address: http://www.chem.ox.ac.uk/vrchemistry/ Purpose: Online Chemistry resource utilising multimedia. Virtual chemistry is one of the most comprehensive science websites on the web. Put together by […]